Skip to main content

Akufo-Addo fires Justice Dery, two other judges over Anas exposé

By December 16, 2018No Comments

President Nana Akufo-Addo has fired three High Court judges implicated in acts of corruption with immediate effect.

The judges are Mr. Ayisi Addo, Mr. Paul Uuter Dery, and Mr. Mustapha Habib Logoh.

The three judges, in addition to Justice Charles Quist, were initially suspended in May.

The three were among the 22 High and Lower Court judges captured by investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas, in audio and video recordings in 2015, showing them collecting bribes from litigants.

“The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, has, by letter dated Thursday, 6th December, 2018, removed Mr. Justice Ayisi Addo, Mr. Justice Uuter Paul Dery, and Mr. Justice Mustapha Habib Logoh, from office as Justices of the High Court,” a statement from the Presidency said.

Their removal came after the Committee established by the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Akuffo to investigate a complaint lodged against the three judges by Anas Aremeyaw Anas, recommended their removal from office.

“The President, in accordance with the provisions of Article 146(9) of the Constitution, has acted on the recommendations of the Committee, as the Constitution enjoins him to do, and has, accordingly, removed the three Justices of the High Court from office on the grounds of bribery and corruption,” the statement said.

President Akufo-Addo has also directed that a copy of the Committee’s report be submitted to the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) of the Ghana Police Service “for the requisite action to be taken.”


Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!